Georgia instated Joshua’s Law in 2007. Joshua’s Law changed the requirements for people applying for a Class D drivers license in Georgia after January 1, 2007.
The law is named after Joshua Brown. Joshua Brown was killed in a motor vehicle accident in 2003. After his death, Joshua’s parents worked with legislators to help make the driver training laws stronger. Joshua’s parents wanted to keep other children from losing their lives as their son did. Eventually the law was passed, and the result was an additional education requirement for 16-year-old drivers applying for a Class D license.
Joshua’s Law says that a teen driver who is 16 must completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services. This course may include classroom instruction on vehicle operation, safe driving strategies, Georgia traffic violations and laws, and other aspects of driving; driving simulator use; and on-the-road driving experiences.
In addition, the student driver must complete a cumulative total of at least forty hours of other supervised driving. The forty hours required must also include at least six hour of nighttime driving.
If you have not met the requirements of completing a driver education course, than you are not allowed to apply for a Class D driver’s license until you are 17 years of age. However, the requirement for forty hours of supervised driving, including the six hours of nighttime driving, is always required in order to obtain a Class D drivers license, even at age 17.
The Law Offices of Scott Miller regret the death of Joshua Brown. We want all teenage drivers in Fulton County to receive as much training and teaching as possible to make them safe and responsible drivers. If you have any questions about the laws of teenage driving or any other traffic legal advice, please call the Law Offices of Scott Miller at 770-408-1001 today.