Marijuana possession in Georgia of less than 1 ounce is a misdemeanor.  If convicted you may face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1000.

If this is your first offense you have a chance of being granted a conditional discharge.  If this is granted, you may be given probation and you may have to attend drug counseling classes.

If you are convicted of being in possession of more than 1 ounce of marijuana, it is considered a felony. A felony carries a sentence of more than one year in jail and a fine greater than $1000.

If you are found in possession of marijuana it may be wise to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Scott Miller
Connect with me
Georgia Attorney at Law

Get Help Now

Fill out this short form and Criminal Defense Lawyer Scott Miller contact you quickly about your traffic, DUI, misdemeanor, felony or probation violation case.