No matter what, being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in north Georgia is serious business. But if you are a teen or young adult, the stakes go up—way up—and your whole life can be radically changed in just a few short minutes.
Being charged with a DUI under the age of 21 can literally change both the driver’s and the parents’ lives. One minute you are having fun with your friends; the next you are facing one of the most difficult and costly experiences you can imagine.
Did You Know?
- Georgia drivers under the age of 21 are considered “drunk drivers” if their blood alcohol content (BAC) measures above 0.02. For adults, it is 0.08.
- If your BAC is under 0.08, but over 0.02, you will lose your license for six months, and there is no chance for a limited driving permit.
- You will also serve a minimum of 20 hours of community service.
- If your BAC is over 0.08, you will lose your license for a year, go to jail for 24 hours and do at least 40 hours of community service.
- You will likely end up paying, not only stiff fines and fees, but also face the possible loss of academic eligibility, scholarships, and even acceptance to the college you had your heart set on.
The Facts about Youth and Drinking in the U.S.
- 70% of the nation’s teenagers drink alcohol.
- 60% of all young-driver accident deaths are alcohol-related.
- 5.8% of young people ages 16-17 reported drinking and driving in 2010.
- This number increased to 15.1% for 18-20 year olds.
- Most alcohol-related teen driver deaths involve the drivers themselves and their passengers.
Yes, the stakes are high. In fact, Georgia prides itself on being a “zero tolerance” state when it comes to drinking and driving. As an Alpharetta DUI defense law firm, we know how to fight the charges against you and work tirelessly to get your life back on track.
If you an underaged driver, or are the parent of an underage driver, charged with DUI in north Georgia, you do not want to go it alone. At the Law Office of Scott Miller in Alpharetta, we can defend you and protect your rights, your license, and your future. Call us today at 770-408-1001, or fill out the confidential form on this page for a free consultation.