In these tough economic times, it is more and more difficult for many Georgia drivers to make ends meet. Paying the household bills, maintaining vehicles to get us to and from work, and keeping all of our policies and registrations up-to-date can become a real financial challenge.
If you are caught driving without insurance, you may have a very good reason for it. Unfortunately, the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) does not care what your reasons are; you could be facing stiff fines, penalties, loss of your driving privileges, and even jail time.
What are the Georgia insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles?
Georgia state law states that:
- Every driver must, at the very least, carry liability insurance.
- This insurance must provide at least $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to two or more people, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
- Insurance companies electronically submit your policy information to the DDS when it is purchased and when it has lapsed.
- You must carry an insurance card in your vehicle at all times.
- You may self-insure your vehicle, if you do not purchase insurance from a carrier.
What are the penalties if you are convicted of driving without insurance in Georgia?
- You will be required to appear in court.
- You will have a misdemeanor on your permanent criminal record.
- You will pay a fine from $200 to $1,000.
- You may be facing possible jail time of up to 12 months.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for 60 to 90 days.
- You may be unable to register a vehicle or buy Georgia license plates.
- You may be restricted from renewing your current Georgia registration and tags.
- If you have an accident, your vehicle could be impounded.
Whether you let your policy lapse or never purchased a policy in the first place, dealing with the consequences can be unpleasant.
If you have been arrested for driving a vehicle without insurance, you really should consider getting some legal advice from an Alpharetta traffic violation attorney. Contact the Law Office of Scott Miller today at 770-408-1001 to find out how we can help you.