Learning to drive is one of the most exciting parts about growing up in America. Most kids under the age of 15 can’t wait to hit the open road behind the wheel. But statistics show that the number-one cause of teen deaths is wrecks, so Georgia takes safety for our younger citizens very seriously.
This is one reason young drivers must be very careful. But also, did you know that if you are a teen driver—or the parent of one—the penalties for a traffic violation are much harsher than those for an adult?
TADRA (Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act) is a licensing program specifically for drivers aged 15 to 18. If you are a new driver with a “Class D” driver’s license, then you know how strict the state is. For example, you must:
- Stay off the road between the hours of 12 a.m. and 6 a.m.
- Limit your passengers to family members only for the first six months.
- Never let a non-family passenger under the age of 21 ride with you the second six months.
- After the first year, never let more than three non-family passengers under the age of 21 ride with you.
- Take an approved drivers education course before being granted a full, Class C, license.
How Teen Drivers’ Rules Differ from Adults’
Teen drivers in Georgia operate under a different set of guidelines than adults. Here are some examples:
- While adults can accumulate up to 15 points in a two-year period without license suspensions, drivers under age 21 can face suspension for one four-point offense.
- If you want to graduate to a full Class C license, you must not have any of the following convictions on your license for the past year: eluding a police officer, racing, reckless driving, and hit-and-run.
- Your license will be suspended for 12 months for truancy or dropping out of school before age 18.
- If you are under 21, your license will be suspended for 6 months for the first offense and 12 for the second if you are convicted of racing, reckless driving, hit-and-run, purchase of alcoholic beverages, or using a fake ID to purchase them.
- If you are under 18, your license will be suspended for accumulating 4 points in any 12-month period.
- Finally, if you are even thinking about drinking and driving, look out. Your legal blood-alcohol content is one-fourth that of an adult.
How We Can Help
As a teen driver, or the parent of one, you have very little room for mistakes when driving. However, like adults, teenagers can be wrongly accused. And also like adults, teenagers have the right to defend themselves when charged with traffic violations.
As an Alpharetta traffic violation defense law firm, the Law Office of Scott Miller can fight for you if you feel you have been treated unfairly. Whether you live in Alpharetta, Roswell, Sandy Springs, or any other north Georgia town, give us a call when you are facing a serious traffic violation.