Georgia road construction workers face some pretty serious dangers on the job. For this reason, our state will impose some serious punishments on drivers who violate Georgia construction zone laws.
As an Alpharetta traffic violation law firm, we know that this kind of ticket can cause you some problems. It is important for you to understand the law if you have been cited for a construction zone violation and you wish to minimize the damage it can have on your driver’s license and insurance rates.
The most common violation, “Speeding in a Work Zone” is explained under Georgia Code 40-6-188. Here are some of the most important things to know about this infraction:
- Definition of Work Zone: “a segment of any highway, road, or street where the Department of Transportation, a county, a municipality or any contractor for any of the foregoing is engaged in constructing, reconstructing, or maintaining physical structure of the roadway or its shoulders or features. . .”
- Responsibilities of the Entity Conducting the Road Work: Signs must be posted, warning of the work, and the entity doing the work has the authority to reduce the posted speed limit in the zone. The signage used must conform to Georgia’s standards.
- How You Can Get Convicted: If ticketed for speeding in a Georgia work zone, there must be proper signage in place and either work zone personnel, barriers, work vehicles, or shoulder/pavement drop offs.
What Happens if You Are Convicted?
You will be guilty of a “misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for a term not to exceed 12 months or both.”
In addition, you will receive the following points on your license:
- 15-18 mph = two points
- 19-23 mph = three points
- 24-33 mph = four points
- 34+ mph = six points
Georgia courts are instructed to report all violations over 15 m.p.h., unless you are driving a commercial vehicle or are under 21 years of age; the laws are much stricter for these two groups. Young drivers’ licenses will be suspended.
In addition, you can add three more points to your license if found guilty of Georgia Code 40-6-75, “Failure to Yield to Construction Vehicle.” And, of course, if the points for a work zone violation put you over the maximum of 15 within 24 months, you will have your license suspended.
Get Help with Your Construction Zone Violation Ticket
In most cases, this kind of infraction is serious enough to consider getting some help from a north Georgia traffic violation attorney. Call the Law Office of Scott Miller today if you want to fight your ticket. We offer caring, aggressive, experienced representation.