In the state of Georgia, there is a multitude of laws concerning driving under the influence of alcohol. Georgia takes a DUI conviction seriously and is trying to enforce harsher measures in an attempt to reduce the number of DUI cases. One of the new rules that Georgia has implemented is known as the 10-day rule.
The 10-day rule applies when you …
- Refused to take a blood, breath, or urine test; or
- Took the test, and your result indicated a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher; or
- You were under the age of 21 when you were arrested, and your BAC was over .02; or
- You have a commercial driver’s license, and your BAC test was .04 or higher.
In any of these cases, you have 10 days to request a special hearing. If you do not request the special hearing you run the risk of losing your license for one year.
When are the effects of the 10-day rule?
The important thing to remember is that the 10-day rule is a form of civil license suspension in Georgia. It can apply to your case even if you are not convicted of drunk driving.
The burden is on you to act. If you do nothing, you will lose your license for a period of a year. Requesting that your case be reconsidered during that year will cost you at least $150, so it is vital that you act within ten business days to request a special hearing and preserve your driving rights.
Getting arrested for a DUI is not a conviction and you should not suffer penalties before you are pronounced guilty. It’s an unfair hardship if you lose your driver’s license because you didn’t request a special hearing. You deserve your day in court to present your case with an experienced lawyer representing you.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Alpharetta you should call the Law Offices of Scott Miller for the expertise in DUI cases. We have extensive experience representing clients in hearings to preserve driving privileges. Call us at 770-408-1001 so we can start helping you with your defense for your DUI case in Georgia.