I just left court with my client in Sandy Springs, GA.
She had been charged with driving a vehicle with an expired registration.
Her vehicle was impounded, and she was required to reinstate the registration before she could retrieve her vehicle.
The laws of the state of Georgia clearly require that a motor vehicle must be currently registered in order to be operated on roads or highway's in Georgia.
I have heard many reasons for not renewing a vehicle registration. The majority of which seem to be either I forgot to send in the registration or I didn't have money to pay for the registration.
Driving and unregistered vehicle in Georgia is not worth the risk. Often times you may end up with your vehicle being impounded. Now you have the added cost of defending yourself in court and paying the impound fee.
If you are unable to obtain a current vehicle registration for whatever reason, it is always wise to get a ride with a friend or call a taxi.
Fortunate for my client, I was able to get her charge reduced.
This information about driving with expired registration is provided to you by the Alpharetta, Georgia traffic ticket defense attorney Scott Miller.
If you are facing the charge of driving without a current vehicle registration or any other traffic violation, you may contact attorney Scott Miller at 770-408-1001, for a free consultation.
- Posted on 11/13/2018Fighting client’s following to close in Cobb State Court.
- Posted on 11/13/2018Possible federal bus stop law increasing penalties significantly:
- Posted on 11/12/2018Getting client’s super speeder ticket reduced in Alpharetta:
- Posted on 05/06/2018 Georgia code 40– 6–163, requires all drivers to stop their vehicles, in both directions, when a school bus is encountered displaying amber lights, flashing red lights, and the stop sign arm extended. A violation of 40 –6–163 can be reported by the school bus driver or it may be recorded on the bus video recording devices. Frequently law enforcement officers observe this violation in school zones. The penalty for being found guilty can be a fine of $300-$1000. Six points can be added to the driving record of the person convicted. Always drive with caution in school zone areas. If driving during the 8 AM to 9 AM hour, look for school buses in local neighborhoods. Save a life, look twice, school children are everywhere. At the law office of traffic ticket defense Attorney Scott Miller, we receive numerous calls each day about school bus violations. I am happy to report that we get the vast majority of these school zone tickets dismissed
- Posted on 05/05/2018 Over 90,000 people move to Metropolitan Atlanta yearly. Clearly, many new residents of Georgia are not aware of this rule or may ignore it for one reason or another. I say this because, I represent a large number of clients who are new to Georgia, with tickets for expired or invalid registration.
- Posted on 05/05/2018 If you drive an unregistered vehicle in Georgia you may be guilty of a misdemeaner According to the Georgia code 40-2-8, driving a vehicle that is currently unregistered on any public highway may be guilty of a criminal misdemeanor.